Q&A: Tom Horan

Tom Horan will be at the second annual Literary Arts Festival at St. Edward’s University in Austin, Texas. Join him on Saturday, March 31st at 5:00 p.m. in the Maloney Room on the third floor of the Main Building. First, let’s get to know him a bit more.

First of all, who are you? What’s your story?

I came to Texas from California via a decade in Chicago. I write plays, I fix my own bike and I keep a wild garden. I have a wife. I have a dog.

Where can I find your work?

The best place to find information about my work is tomhoran.blogspot.com.

When did you begin writing?

I’ve been writing for theater since high school and at one time or another have performed, designed and directed.

What is your favorite word?

I have so many, and here are some: Lilt, Mellifluous, Tintinnabulation.

What is your least favorite word?

No.

What profession other than your own would you like to attempt?

Watchmaker.

What super hero power would you most like to have?

I would like to be able to remember everything (without the side effect of never being able to forget).

In what circumstances do you write? (Do you have a special desk? A regular table at Starbucks? Pen and Paper or Typing? Do you write daily, as the mood strikes you, or especially in November?)

I find myself cycling in three phases – reading and research, intense first draft writing, rewriting and production. Often the cycles of different projects will overlap, but I try to keep as much space between different phrases.